Welcome, just walk up the front steps and come on in.


Habitación privada

2 huéspedes

1 cama

Habitación privada

2 huéspedes

1 cama

Por noche
No se efectuará ningún cargo aún.
251 viajeros han guardado este espacio

Información sobre este anuncio

Just renovated room for woman or couple only. Cozy country cottage, extensive gardens. Share kitchen, bath and living spaces with owner and cat. Near S. Kent and Kent School, Appalachian Trail, in scenic rural Litchfield County.


El alojamiento
El alojamiento
Capacidad: 2
Baños: 1
Tipo de cama: Cama
Dormitorios: 1
Camas: 1
Llegada: A partir de las 15:00
Salida: 12:00
Tiene mascotas: Gato(s)
Tipo de habitación: Habitación privada

Servicios
Servicios

Precios
Precios
Gastos de limpieza: 19€
Descuento por semana: 5%
Cancelación: Estricta

Descripción
Descripción

Just renovated room for woman or couple only. Cozy country cottage, extensive gardens. Share kitchen, bath and living spaces with owner and cat. Near S. Kent and Kent School, Appalachian Trail, in scenic rural Litchfield County.

People love my funny little house and I love it too. It's a 1946 lake cottage with lots of character, being lovingly renovated and with great views.
The cheerful good-sized guest room has views in three directions - up the mountain into my gardens, out to the lake and through an old apple tree. It is uncluttered and colorful, with a good reading lamp, computer desk and empty bureau.
The bed can function as a double or a single - It has a roll-out lower trundle that can be raised to the same level as the upper mattress, or used at floor level and tucked away for more floor space during the day. Beds can be positioned side-by-side or rolled apart.
The bath is shared - it's a one bathroom house.
New mattress covers, pads, sheets, blankets and quilt cover the beds, which guests report are quite comfortable.
There is great cellphone service in this neighborhood - not always the case in this mountainous area.

During the week and in the off-season, one-night stays are fine. On peak-season summer and fall foliage weekends, though, advance bookings need to be at least 2 nights. For last-minute requests, if the room isn't already booked, one night might be fine - just be in touch and I'll accommodate you if the schedule allows.

Full access to the kitchen and guests are welcome to help themselves to tea and coffee. A former sunporch across the front of the house is now a sunny winterized living room with a big couch ( a dreamy napping place), an armoire full of records and CDs and a dining/work table looking out over the lake. A big woodstove takes the chill off in winter, and open windows keep it breezy all summer. You're welcome to make yourself at home there or in the adjacent dining room. A big artist-made picnic table, bench and chairs give lots of places to enjoy the outdoors.
If you've been out on the Appalachian Trail and need to do some laundry, you're welcome to use my machines.

I often work at home, so some days I'll be in my office all day, some days I'll be on the run, it just depends on my schedule. I do enjoy company, especially at meal times, and have had a great time with guests who like to pitch in and do improvisational cooking together. Or if you prefer to be on your own, I'm happy to get guests situated, give directions and suggestions, and send them on their way to explore this beautiful part of the world. On weekends I'm more available. I'm always happy to give the grand tour of gardens and answer questions.


This is the country and there is no public transportation. It is just plain beautiful here - woods and water, mountains reflected in the lake, quiet and dark at night. It's not fancy or pretentious or overdeveloped, just nice. The historic Bull's Bridge, one of the few still-operating covered bridges in the state, is around the corner and is a sight to see when the waters are rushing by. Kent is full of permanently protected open space and it's a short drive to access to miles and miles of hiking trails from easy to challenging. It is dark and quiet here at night.
Kent Falls and Lake Waramaug are nearby along with art galleries, antiquing opportunities and great restaurants.

There is no public transportation. I'm happy to pick up AT hikers in Kent or at Bull's Bridge if my schedule permits. The South Kent School is a very short walk - you can see the hockey rink lit up at night from my house.

I hope that you will be comfortable and have an enjoyable stay. Please let me know if there is anything you need or if you would like restaurant, hiking or other recommendations.


Normas de la casa
Normas de la casa
Prohibido fumar
No se admiten mascotas
No se admiten fiestas o eventos
La hora de llegada es después de las 15:00.

No smoking, no drugs, no parties and please, no visiting pets or unannounced visitors.
We're in the country and it is very safe here, but I still lock my doors, so please lock up doors and first floor windows when you go out, and during the heating season, turn down the heat.

If you are new to Airbnb, the idea is that I’m not renting a room, but rather sharing my home. I live and work here, and enjoy meeting new people. It's like having old friends visit, not like a hotel. You are welcome to make yourself at home in the common living areas and to use the kitchen, but please leave everything as clean and put away as you have found it. As we will be sharing a bathroom, I appreciate your tidying up and keeping personal items in your room.

If we are up at the same time in the morning I’ll gladly make breakfast and clean up. Otherwise, I’ll show you where everything is and you are welcome to fix your own, but please do clean up afterward.

If you play music, please keep it at low volume.

It’s an early-to-bed, early-to-rise household; please be considerate about returning at late hours; I appreciate knowing ahead of time if a late arrival is expected.

The cat is not allowed outdoors – she can be sneaky so please don’t leave doors open and keep an eye out for her.


Funciones de seguridad
Funciones de seguridad
Detector de humo
Detector de monóxido de carbono
Extintor de incendios

Disponibilidad
Disponibilidad
Estancia mínima de 1 noche

Alojado por Karen

Kent, Connecticut, Estados Unidos · Miembro desde Enero de 2014
Karen

I'm a professional garden writer, speaker and eco-friendly garden coach. While I lecture all over the country and love traveling and meeting people, my roots are sunk into the land I have gardened for 25 years. The whole yard is my studio and I enjoy sharing my knowledge of plants, nature and gardening. There's no tv, but the house is full of books, music (I sing in a classical vocal ensemble), beautiful natural light and birdsong coming in through every window in summer.
Eating well and cooking with fresh local food are a passion and I enjoy improvisational cooking with friends.
I enjoy both company and solitude, and offer guests a choice of sociability or privacy, whichever they prefer. My schedule is work and weather-dependent, but if time permits I'm always up for a nice walk along the Housatonic River or a good long swim.

Ratio de respuesta: 100%
(10 últimos contactos)
Tiempo de respuesta: en pocas horas

Conexiones sociales