The front rooms have a hill view. Cropped fields, hedges and grazing sheep predominate.A range of breakfasts, from continenal to full Scottish.


Habitación privada

2 huéspedes

1 cama

Habitación privada

2 huéspedes

1 cama

Por noche
No se efectuará ningún cargo aún.
151 viajeros han guardado este espacio

Información sobre este anuncio

Very deep in the countryside, next to the Cheviot Hills National Park, surrounded by farm and hill land
The Station, School and Chapel are now residential and we have just 7 people in this, once busy little hamlet, plus the dogs, cats and chickens.


El alojamiento
El alojamiento
Capacidad: 2
Baños: 1
Tipo de cama: Cama
Dormitorios: 1
Camas: 1
Llegada: 16:00 a 20:00
Salida: 10:00
Tipo de habitación: Habitación privada

Servicios
Servicios

Precios
Precios
Cancelación: Flexible

Descripción
Descripción

Very deep in the countryside, next to the Cheviot Hills National Park, surrounded by farm and hill land
The Station, School and Chapel are now residential and we have just 7 people in this, once busy little hamlet, plus the dogs, cats and chickens.

One of only six dwellings in a scattered group and very far from the madding crowd. You maybe disturbed by the deer crashing away down the garden, and the squeeking sounds made by the baby hedgehogs, or woken by the lambs and calves complaining of hunger!.

The accommodation available is a double room and a single room. Bedding towels and toiletries are provided and there is space for clothes storage and hanging The kitchen is available for preparing lunches .

The area is famous with walkers and cyclists. Wooded valleys, an extensive footpath system, yellow sandy beaches, cliffs and surf, fishing villages.

I have "mains" electricity, most times, but candlelight when it fails! Water, drainage and gas are all on private supply and nearest street lamp is 6 kilometers away.

Next to the National Park and very close to ruined castles, abbeys and fortified manor houses, this area is full of history of the Border warfare.
The coastline is unrivaled for sandy beaches, rocky headlands and quiet fishing villages.
.
The hills and river valleys are unspoiled and ideal for walking, cycling, kayaking and horse riding. The Pennine way and St Cuthbert's Way are both very close as are National Cycle Routes.

There are many good restaurant, hotels and pub meals available in our scattered Border communities and Edinburgh, just 55 miles to the North or Newcastle 55 miles South are easily reached for day trips with the car.

Or, take the train from the main line railway station, in the historic walled town of Berwick UponTweed, a twenty minute drive.

Breakfast is included. The price for the double is £45 if you also book the single this will be an additional £20.

If you want to book the single separately please see my other listing - the single alone is £30.

The living room is available for guests who want to read, use laptops or sit and watch t.v.
.
If you are going out for dinner, please feel free to come back here to have your coffee and a chat...there might even be some cake on the table....

I have a good knowledge of the Borders and beyond, from Edinburgh to Newcastle.
My kids grew up here and having lived here for 60 years, I am almost a local!
I can suggest days out featuring coasts and castles, abbeys and valleys, tours and hikes, stately homes and out of the way walks.
.
Please do make up your packed lunch in my kitchen if you wish. I can probably house your travel food overnight in my fridge, if needed.

Within one hour from here there are 30 castles, 5 abbeys and 5 stately homes plus market towns such as Alnwick, Berwick, Kelso and Wooler.
.
Hiking, riding, fishing and biking, (off and on road), are all available locally, with farmers markets, craft fairs and village fetes in the Summer / Autumn seasons.

Only one intrepid visitor has made it here on foot.....she was born in Alaska!
Bikes can be stored in my garage and hiking boots are good for every day use here. If you bring your car it can be parked off road, right outside my house.
.

Be aware that in the hills the mobile phones have intermittent service. Get directions to my home before hand if posssible.
Especially note that my cottage is not in Cornhill village, but 4 miles to the South, towards Yetholm......Dont rely entirely on your GPS!
.
You wll be staying at 2, Mindrum Station Cottages, Mindrum, Cornhill, Northumberland, TD12 4QL


Normas de la casa
Normas de la casa
Prohibido fumar
No se admiten mascotas
No se admiten fiestas o eventos
Puede ser inseguro o inadecuado para bebés (de 0 a 2 años)
Horario de llegada: de las 16:00 a las 20:00.

Indoor footwear only please.
Sorry, no pets.
Quiet time after 22.30.
Minimum two nights booking.


Funciones de seguridad
Funciones de seguridad
Detector de humo
Botiquín

Disponibilidad
Disponibilidad
Estancia mínima de 1 noche

Alojado por John

Inglaterra, Reino Unido · Se registró en Enero de 2012
John

Semi retired, professional background, world traveled (with boots and rucksack.!) Here in the U.K. I (volunteer) teach mountaineering skills and dinghy sailing.
.
Having visited about 40 countries myself, I often host friends from around the world or Brit friends who want to get away from the cities.
I have been involved in Couchsurfing, Scouting and the Duke of Edinburgh's Award Scheme, and actively participate in backpacking and other outdoor activities.
.
I love history , architecture, mid range music, theatre and play chess and scrabble (both badly).
.
I live in the very rural Borders, next to the Northumberland National Park in a former railway cottage dated 1885. (The railway has long gone and you need a car or, better still, wellies, hiking boots or a bike to get around here).
For me , its about hosting people who can be regarded more as friends, rather than guests.
.
There are just seven people in our hamlet...plus four dogs , two cats and the chickens. We have a great local neighbourhood, with a formidable Pub Quiz Team (not the animals).
.
Its warm and dry in the house, but not really a Townie bolt hole,and you might face intermittent electricity, private drainage and water, the rooster next door and the bleating lambs as an alarm clock!

Ratio de respuesta: 100%
(hace 90 días)
Tiempo de respuesta: en el mismo día

Conexiones sociales