Your room includes a comfortable bed with size "full" mattress, antique style black dresser, closet and two windows looking out onto the back yard and garden. Your room has a comfortable desk to work at, cable TV, and two windows that look out onto the back yard.
Habitación privada
1 huésped
1 dormitorio
1 cama
Por noche
No se efectuará ningún cargo aún.
120 viajeros han guardado este espacio

Información sobre este anuncio

Come stay with me in Boston's Roslindale neighborhood. It is a very safe and suburban part of the city, where most of the houses were built in the 1920s - 40s, and they all have driveways and backyards. Within a block of the apt. are a convenience store, pizza parlor, sports bar and grill, dry cleaner, breakfast and lunch diner, gas station and small gym. About a half-mile away is Roslindale Square, with banks, restaurants, post office, etc.


El alojamiento
Capacidad: 1
Baños: 1 (Baño compartido)
Dormitorios: 1
Camas: 1
Salida: 14:00
Tipo de habitación: Habitación privada

Servicios

Precios
Descuento por semana: 15%
Cancelación: Moderada

Descripción

Come stay with me in Boston's Roslindale neighborhood. It is a very safe and suburban part of the city, where most of the houses were built in the 1920s - 40s, and they all have driveways and backyards. Within a block of the apt. are a convenience store, pizza parlor, sports bar and grill, dry cleaner, breakfast and lunch diner, gas station and small gym. About a half-mile away is Roslindale Square, with banks, restaurants, post office, etc.

I am an importer of Mexican Folk Art,and I run an online store out of the apartment. You will see some wonderful examples of handmade wood and pottery figures on display here. This is a well-maintained, two-family house built in the 1920s. My apartment is on the second floor. This is a pet and smoke-free apartment.

PRICE: Price includes ALL utilities (heat, electricity, Wi-Fi, cable TV, air conditioner), parking in street, and use of back yard. NO SMOKING indoors or outside. Note that the bed is a size "Full" mattress, not a Queen or a King. This is ideal for one guest.

The price listed is for one person. I offer discounted rates for stays of one week or longer.

Guests get free coffee and a slice or two of my homemade banana bread in the morning. It's not a full breakfast, but it will get your day started on the right track. There is also a very good and popular breakfast shop one block away.

YOUR ROOM: Measures 12.5 by 11.5 feet. It has 2 windows, side-by side on one wall, looking out onto the back yard. Walls are painted light green color, with white trim. Room has a closet. The room is fully furnished with an 8 x 10 wool rug, and a nice bureau, a wood-frame, full-size bed, cable TV, and a desk and new chair. In summer, it has a window air conditioner. Apartment has a Wi-Fi connection for your laptop.

THE APARTMENT: The apartment is very well maintained, with freshly-painted walls, newly-refinished hardwood floors, and some original, natural wood detailing. It is on the second floor of a two-family home, and gets lots of nice sunshine.

The apartment has an eat-in kitchen, with big refrigerator, gas stove and tiled floor. Guests are welcome to use the kitchen and all cooking utensils. I have a gas stove, toaster oven, microwave, convection oven and a pressure cooker! The bathroom is shared. It has a big bathtub and a good shower. A clothes washer & dryer are in basement. You can wash clothes at no charge. Outside, there is a large yard in the back.

I am living in the apartment during your stay, and I work from home, so I'm there most of the time.

I have a backyard garden, so if you are here during August and September, be prepared for tomatoes and cucumbers!

In addition to your personal room, you can also use the living room which includes a 32-inch HDTV with an Apple TV connection. The bathroom, adjacent to your room, is shared. The only room that is off limits is my bedroom on the opposite side of the apartment.

I have a clothes washer and dryer in the basement for your use.

You can have access to your room, the adjacent bathroom, the full kitchen and all my cooking appliances and utensils. You can relax in the living room, watch Netflix or HBO on my flat-screen TV. You can also spend as much time as you want in the peaceful back yard, where there is a summer garden and lawn chairs to sit in.

ABOUT ME: I am one of the original Boston AIRBNB hosts, having signed-up with them in 2008. I am a big traveler myself, and I love hearing stories of where guests have been or where they are heading to next.

Here are clues to my personality: Favorite singers are Judy Collins, Ari Hest, Spanish vocalist Miguel Bose and the British rock band, James. My top favorite places to travel to are Oaxaca, Mexico and Budapest, Hungary. In years gone by, I have had repeated trips to Paris and to Tunisia, also.

I'm a laid-back, friendly, single guy. I work from home, spending a lot of time on the computer. My website where I sell handmade things from Mexico is called "Viva Oaxaca Folk Art." You will see lots of folk art in the apartment. I also run websites for other small companies. Since I work from home, I will be here to answer questions and provide directions and occasionally, a ride to the subway, if needed. I am very friendly and outgoing, but there are many days when I need to concentrate most of my time on getting my work done.

I don’t smoke, don’t have overnight guests. I keep regular hours, am friendly, considerate and quiet. I have a Masters Degree in Communication, and, being from Boston, I have a liberal slant on politics and cultural events.

The LOCATION: Roslindale is a safe and diverse Boston neighborhood located between Jamaica Plain and West Roxbury. This apartment is on Ardale Street, a quiet side street off Centre Street. This is about one-half mile from Faulkner Hospital, walking distance to the renowned Arnold Arboretum park, and about 20-minute drive to Boston's Longwood Medical Center area. I have easy, restriction-free, on-street parking here, and a spacious, peaceful back yard.

PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION: From the house, quick public transportation to Forest Hills station (Orange Line and Commuter Rail) is via two nearby MBTA bus lines. The #38 bus stops one-half block away, and takes you past the Faulkner, then to Jamaica Plain and Forest Hills. The #51 bus stops one block away, and goes a more direct route to Forest Hills. (The bus also goes to Cleveland Circle in Brookline.) Between the two bus lines, there is a bus that stops here every 15 minutes or so on weekdays; but no service on Sunday.

ALSO, the apartment is just 1/2 mile walk to the "Roslindale Village" MBTA commuter rail stop, Needham Line. The train takes you to Ruggles Station at Northeastern Univ., to Back Bay station and to South Station in downtown Boston, in about 15 minutes time. There are more city busses, running 7 days a week, from this MBTA rail station. You can also pick up ZIP Cars there. Many of my guests also use Uber to get them around, too.

GETTING HERE FROM LOGAN AIRPORT: By public transportation: You take the free shuttle bus at the airport that brings you to the MBTA subway train "Blue Line" AIRPORT station. Take the train in the "Inbound" direction to the STATE Station stop. Change there to the "Orange Line" train going in the direction of Forest Hills station. At Forest Hills, the last stop on the Orange Line, a cab ride to the house will cost about $9. Or you can call me when you are on the way, and I can pick you up at Forest Hills. The station is about 1.5 miles (2 kilometers) from my house.

BY TAXI from the airport to the house will cost about $45. Tell the driver that you are going to the "Roslindale" neighborhood of Boston. Uber drivers are not yet allowed to pick-up passengers at the Boston airport. However they can drop-off passengers. The Uber fee from my apartment to the airport is around $25.

There is no smoking allowed, inside the apartment or outside.


Normas de la casa
Prohibido fumar
No se admiten mascotas
No se admiten fiestas o eventos
Puede ser inseguro o inadecuado para niños (de 0 a 12 años)

I encourage you to use my kitchen, cooking and laundry facilities. There is no additional charge to use the washer/dryer in the basement.

No smoking, inside or outside. Come home as late as you want. If you come home stumbling drunk, it's OK the first time. If you do it again, and you wake up me or the neighbors downstairs, we will be annoyed. (Just so you know . . . )


Funciones de seguridad
Detector de humo
Detector de monóxido de carbono
Botiquín
Ficha de instrucciones de seguridad
Pestillo en la puerta del dormitorio

Disponibilidad
Estancia mínima de 3 noches

Tu anfitrión


Phil

Phil

Boston, Massachusetts, Estados Unidos · Se registró en Mayo de 2009

I am a middle-aged, single male with a wide range of interests and creative outlets. I have traveled frequently, in much of the world, especially central Europe, including Hungary and Slovakia. In recent years I have had many trips to Mexico, where I buy folk art for my online business, called Viva Oaxaca Folk Art. I love meeting new people, especially travelers with stories to tell.

In addition to the above, I run web sites for small companies, including a physical therapy practice, a cancer treatment center and a colonial era historic house and museum.

In the 1980s, I was a publicist and concert producer, and have presented many concerts with Judy Collins, as well as with Ella Fitzgerald, Laura Nyro, Tom Rush, Barbara Cook and Karen Akers. Now I run a channel on YouTube called "beta.hifi.archive" that is a collection of 50 years of video clips from the career of Judy Collins.

So come to Boston, and stay with me. Enjoy some tomatoes and cucumbers from my garden, explore my world of Mexican folk art, and let's talk about our travel adventures.

Ratio de respuesta: 100%(hace 90 días)
Tiempo de respuesta: en menos de una hora

Conexiones sociales